Friday, September 25, 2015

Modern Day Babylon - The Ocean Atlas [EP Review]

The Ocean Atlas is a tremendous EP that stands out from the crowd. From the 3 piece titled Modern Day Babylon, it is an EP filled with musicality and pleasant surprises that make it feel exceptionally fresh and polished in a quite overcrowded scene nowadays. Even sometimes blending in electronics, Modern Day Babylon has quite the little treasure on their hands and I'm here to help it get the recognition that it deserves.

The EP is a total of 6 songs (including a remix of the first track) all with their own pros and cons. Overall however, this is definitely going to contain more pros than cons as these guys have some beautifully written songs that can convey emotions exceptionally through their writing. And... that's without any lyrics. Also the fact that they are a 3 piece is quite impressive as some songs contain sections that sound like they were pieced together by much larger ensembles. Also, while this is metal, the band manages to write in keys that are very uplifting and airy with lots of melodic possibilities that they definitely emphasize on.

Track Rundown:


The first track of the EP is definitely one of it's best. Wings is an onslaught of melodic beauty from beginning to end. It features a simple and catchy electronic intro that leads right into a gorgeous riff to start off the EP. Rhythmic complexity is aplenty throughout this track and there are plenty of sections changes and bridges which keep the song driving forward and prevent it from becoming stale. I also have to say that these guys have some sexy tones across the board. Guitar and bass sounds great throughout all ranges and the drums cut through when they need to without being overbearing. This is definitely one of my top tracks from the EP and it provides a great example of what listeners can expect throughout the rest of the songs. = A-

Water Drops

Holy shit do I love this song. From the opening chords I knew this was gonna be a great one. Yet another masterfully crafted riff that is paired with a groovy bass line and a solid beat on the kit. This song actually progresses a great deal from beginning to end and it does so with plenty of style. Some sections feature more ambiance and backing electronics, we are greeted with a gorgeous guitar solo about halfway through, and the last third of the song drives forward while still managing to introduce new sonic ideas and melodic lines. The very end even shows us the down-tuned-heavy-hitting side of Modern Day Babylon with a kickass breakdown accompanied by some mesmerizing floating guitar lines. = A+

Through The Worlds

As the last track on the EP, I was hoping this would make a solid finisher that I would remember even after I had hit the pause button. I was right. This song builds on a very strong melodic motif all the way to the finish and it demonstrates (again) a great piece of progressive metal which transforms over the course of 5 minutes. Right from the opening drum fill I could tell that this song was going to hit just a little bit harder and it does so in all the right places. We are greeted with lines of arpeggios as well as some syncopated cymbal and kick work that all mix great to transition into new sections and make the song feel like a journey through multiple sonic styles. However, there is the constant theme provided by the melodic motif which makes the song feel very coherent and polished. = B+

The Verdict

I will end by saying that this EP is beautiful. Instrumental groove metal accompanied by gorgeous melodic lines and equally pleasing guitar solos, bass lines, and beats on the kit. Sounds pretty damn great to me. However, there's so much more to this release and I have to recommend that you check it out for yourself!
The Ocean Atlas = 9/10

Check out the EP stream below!

Monday, August 24, 2015


Hey guys! I know content has been quite bare bones but I've been working on plenty of stuff behind the scenes and can't wait to get it all up here. This is a simple update letting you know that I'm still planning on posting content here on a weekly basis once school starts up again! 

In the mean time, I figured I'd leave some new material for you guys to check out! Black Tongue has released yet another new song, this time complete with a bone-chilling video. In the Wake ov the Wolf is the title of the new song and I still think that these guys are the best downtempo group around. While it may not appeal to as many people as L'appel du Vide, (previous single) Black Tongue is definitely proving that they are on the come up and I can't wait for their upcoming album. 

Also, my metalcore favorites, The Devil Wears Prada, just released their new Space EP. Featuring 6 tracks the EP tells the story of a lone astronaut who ends up being the sole survivor of the human race. It is an exceptional EP with plenty of emotions flowing through the lyrics and some of the best metalcore instrumentals I've heard in a while. I will be posting a review of Space later this week.

In the mean time, check out the new Black Tongue single and my favorite track off of the Space EP!



Wednesday, August 5, 2015

The Devil Wears Prada - Alien [NEW SINGLE]

Wow. The Space EP is almost here and TDWP have given us a second track from their upcoming release. I'll start by saying this, Alien is my favorite track that these guys have put out in years. I'm more of a Zombie, Roots, and Plagues fan, rather than Dead Throne and 8:18. This upcoming EP seems to have a concept similar to their first EP, Zombie. As for the song, this shit rips. Daniel is rippin' on the kit from the first note and doesn't let up after that. The mix sounds nice a crisp and Mike's vocals are used in new and unique ways while still maintaining his signature sound. I'd say my only complaint with this song is that it isn't longer due to how much I've been enjoying it. I'm actually glad they decided not to implement a more typical chorus, as we saw that on the last single, Supernova.

The Space EP is due out August 21st on Rise Records. 

Be sure to check out the official stream of Alien from Rise below!

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Thy Art Is Murder - Holy War [NEW ALBUM Stream]

Well here it is! The highly anticipated new album from the guys in Thy Art Is Murder. We've definitely had a handful of deathcore releases this year so we'll have to see if this can stand apart from the pack and show some growth since Hate. These guys haven't always been my favorite deathcore act, but I can't deny that they sure do have some tasty jams. Definitely gonna be listening to this in the coming weeks and will probably be posting a review after my review of Psalms (new Lorna Shore).


Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Black Tongue - L'appel du Vide [New Single]

I'm gonna call Black Tongue down-tempo, but this new track would be contradicting me. Okay yes, the heavy is here, obviously if you're listening to Black Tongue you're expecting the drop tuning and plenty of slams. But this new track adds a LOT to their sound. The opening with blasts feels like something straight out of a black metal album with the ambiance the guitars create. This is starting to become somewhat of a trend among bands under the deathcore label, but when done right (like this) it sounds pretty damn amazing. Definitely give this one a listen if you haven't had your daily headbang yet! Also, keep a lookout for their new album due out September this year, titled, The Unconquerable Dark.

Monday, June 8, 2015

Upcoming Northlane Album and New Single!

Well yesterday the world was given a new Northlane song. I'd say that is a pretty damn good day. Even with the addition of new vocalist Marcus Bridge, Northlane is on their A game and I can say I'm definitely looking forward to their new album, Node, due out July 24th. The new single, Obelisk, is really demonstrating somewhat of a new direction in which there is plenty of atmosphere. The guitars swell in the background while drums slice right through and it's a really welcome sound is this almost overpopulated world of modern metal. If Rot and Obelisk are signs of what is to come, Node looks to be an excellent release from a more than excellent band.

Check out the official video for Obelisk and the tracklist for Node below. 

Tracklist for Node:

1. Soma
2. Obelisk
3. Node
4. Ohm
5. Nameless
6. Rot
7. Leech
8. Impulse
9. Weightless
10. Ra
11. Animate

Monday, May 25, 2015

The Coma Machine - Between the Buried and Me [New Single]

Ah, so nice to finally see the return of Between the Buried and Me. These guys are masters of metal and are one of the most intuitive and musically intelligent bands around today. I was a huge fan of their previous albums, Colors and The Parallax II: Future Sequence. Some of my favorite metal songs of all time reside on those albums so I was definitely expecting big things for their new material. The band released the first single from their upcoming album back in April, and let me tell you, it was great. However, this right here... is really something special. This song and video demonstrate how truly talented and artistic these guys are. The song s a masterpiece and flows perfectly from beginning to end featuring a multitude of styles and sounds along the way.

With how The Coma Machine is sounding, I really think we should be getting excited for this new album. Coma Ecliptic is due out July 10th on Metal Blade Records. Definitely be looking to check this one out!

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

I'M BACK! [Matriarch Review - Veil of Maya]

Hey everyone! I know it's been a while since I posted a review or anything, but I'm back. I will also be creating a new format for my reviews and be going a little more in depth. Midterms had me swamped with plenty of other personal issues but I will now be posting a review or an update at least once a week. Now that that's out of the way... the new Veil of Maya album dropped yesterday, and I'm gonna tell you all about it.


Matriarch is by far Veil's best written album to date. While some fans man not feel that this is Veil at their best, this is definitely their songwriting at it's best. This is the first album to incorporate clean vocals, and guitarist Marc Okubo said that was something that the band had been talking about implementing for quite a while, before they even landed their new vocalist, Lukas. While even I was a little skeptical of the introduction of cleans, they couldn't blend any better and Lukas' voice is truly outstanding. Alright here's where I may lose some of you. I actually think Lukas is an upgrade from Brandon. He seems to have a wider range of screams as well as a great singing voice that is proving very intuitive for Veil. 

For those of you thinking, "Oh this isn't Veil of Maya anymore", let's put those thoughts to rest. This is Veil of Maya. I can hear similarities to The Common Mans Collapse on tracks like LeeLoo and Teleute, while they manage to incorporate so many new sounds at the same time. This is by far the widest variety of sounds that we have seen to date on one of Veil's albums. However, some sounds and ideas do feel a little out of place and almost dumbed down compared to the rest of the material on the album. Matriarch is a masterfully crafted metal album and all the boys in Veil are showing what they have evolved into. 

Track rundown:

LeeLoo - Alright this one is something special. If you're looking for the good old chaotic riffs and mind boggling rhythms of TCMC and even id, this is going to be one of your favorite tracks on the album. It features an intro riff that will melt your face while you groove all at the same time. Lukas layers over some brutal screams and Sam is clean as ever behind the kit. Dan also sounds great as the bass isn't hidden in the mix and everyone's contribution is able to be picked out while listening. This track also features some really neat effects in order to create atmosphere, and the second half has some rhythms that will leave listeners lost, but more than satisfied. 

LeeLoo: A

Mikasa - This was actually the second single released from this album, and that's for a damn good reason. This is a kick-ass song, from start to finish. The heavy A sections give us plenty of what we want, but then we hear something new from Veil... choruses. Lukas really shines on this track because we are able to see the contrast from his screams and cleans so clearly. It's a track full to the brim with beautiful melodies and bellowing growls and exposes us to these new sounds of the band. 

Mikasa: B+

Three-Fifty - Being a personal favorite of mine from this album, I have a lot to say about this song. First of all, it's fast. Opens with a blistering intro and then transitions listeners into a slow-flowing break section featuring Lukas' cleans yet again. This slow section returns with more emphasis and we really get to hear a lot of Lukas on this track. The final third is where this one picks up. Marc's riffs just fit. It's as simple as that and he has clearly spent A LOT of time writing this album. There are also some great layers added for texture behind the main riffs and rhythms. 

Three-Fifty: A-

The Verdict:

So, is Matriarch worth your time? Without a doubt. This is some of the best work of one of the best modern metal bands around. Veil of Maya is proving to be like a fine wine, they are getting better with age. While many people will avoid this album all together due to the use of clean vocals, I really ask you to open your mind and give it a listen. I guarantee that there's at least one track that new and old fans alike can get down to. From start to finish this album just feels complete and full of wonderful musical ideas. I think that the inclusion of cleans has pushed them to new boundaries and will only further their music endeavors even after this album. 

Matriarch  = 9.2/10

Check out my favorite track from the album below!

PS - I was lucky enough to see Veil of Maya last night for the album release show. It was my first time seeing the band live with Lukas, and they played a great combination of new and old material. He really displayed his chops with some older tracks like "It's Not Safe to Swim Today" and "Resistance" while also absolutely slaying all of the cleans and screams from the material that he has written. Was impressed with the whole band as always and it was one hell of a show. 

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Mikasa - Veil Of Maya [New Single and Upcoming Album Info]

About a week ago, Veil of Maya put out a little parody video of Breaking Bad. It had to do with their new vocalist (Lukas Magyar) defending his right to sing with clean vocals. As a longtime fan of Veil I never thought I'd see the day where they include clean vocals. But damn, I'm actually pretty glad that I was wrong on this one. This new track embodies everything that Veil represents. Crazy guitar riffs by the always innovative Marc Okubo, with bass lines and beats to match provided by the Higler and Sam Applebaum. Then we get a taste of Lukas and his cleans. Let me say this: this dude can sing. He has not only a great range with his cleans, but his screams are tremendous across the board. Even from the live footage that I've seen so far of him performing with the band on some older songs, he kills it. Adding in cleans adds a whole new element to this band without leaving behind what they've been all these years. 

With the release of this new song, the band also announced that their upcoming album is titled Matriarch and will be available May 12th 2015. Pre-order bundles are up and I highly suggest looking into this album. Veil have yet to release a disappointing album and with this new direction that they are moving in, I'm sure that Matriarch will provide some of their best material to date. 

Check out the music video for Mikasa below!

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Skylasher - Lee McKinney of Born of Osiris [Solo Debut]

Lee McKinney from Born of Osiris has just released his first solo track titled, Skylasher. I have always enjoyed BoO and Lee definitely proves that he has contributed quite a bit of his creativity to the band with this solo effort. This track features some great shredding with a surprisingly solid backing track formed of electronic sounding drums and bass tones. While not bad by any means, I simply have the preference for live instruments, although seeing how it was all written by one man, I think I'll cut Lee some slack. It's a nice track with a hint of Animals as Leaders that really shows off what Lee is capable of. Hopefully he brings some of these new ideas and concepts to the new Born of Osiris content...

Monday, February 16, 2015

On The Run - Dance Gavin Dance

AHH Dance Gavin Dance are back! Their second new song since Acceptance Speech, On The Run is a killer track. This has to be one of my favorite intros in a long time and it only builds on that. Tillians vocals are beautiful throughout and offer a more though provoking style over Jon's who seems to be back to his usual lyrical nonsense. Personally, I don't think that's a bad thing because Jon's lyrics may not be plotted out perfectly but his sporadic sound and style fit him very well within this band, as he always has.

Bottom Line is this track is killer! My only complaint is that we need more Will!!! The guitars seem a little low on the mix and that could be due to "youtube quality" or some other b.s... however, Will Swan is a truly unique and talented guitarist and has been part of the backbone of this band since their conception. Let me hear those tasty grooves that he can deliver on the strings! Other than that definitely give this one a listen and keep an eye out for their upcoming album, Instant Gratification out April 14th!!

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

A Gift a Curse - Emmure [Video]

Sadly, Emmure have always been a guilty pleasure of mine. Hell, the bass player and I are even from the same town in good ol' Connecticut. Even though I was a little more than disappointed with their latest release, this was one of the exceptions off the album, and although the video might seem a little extraneous, I enjoy seeing new material from these guys in any shape/form. The video features Frankie growling away and has a dark theme that seems to be dealing with a parellel universe possibly? Who knows... it's Emmure. However, this video is on repeat on my end just cause I can always go for some nice chuggin' from Emmure. Enjoy!

Saturday, January 17, 2015

New Oceano Singles!!

Oceano are back with two brutal singles off their forthcoming album. After a few somewhat disappointing releases, it's glad to see these deathcore aficionados are back on track. These tracks are Oceano at their best: brutal, violent, atmospheric, and just plain old heavy. The songs show a great deal of progression from beginning to end while also introducing motifs. These are two very solid tracks that will be a treat for long time fans, as well as those who are hearing Oceano for the first time. I'm glad to see that this album should be a great outing for Oceano and can't wait to hear more from these guys! Check out the two singles below!!

Dead Planet

Dawn of Descent

Monday, January 12, 2015

Favorites of 2014!!

Finally, I have my list of favorite albums from the whirlwind that was 2014. I know it's like 2 months late but whatever dudes. Hope you enjoy and make sure to check out something from this list!

Honorable Mentions:

- A Voice Within - Intervals

- Once More 'Round The Sun - Mastodon

- The Joy of Motion - Animals As Leaders

- Antemasque [Self-titled]



10. Descensus - Circa Survive

9. You're Dead - Flying Lotus

8. From Parts Unknown - Every Time I Die

7. Run the Jewels 2 - Run the Jewels

6. Under Pressure - Logic

5. No Peace - Trash Talk

4. Tomorrow's Modern Boxes - Thom Yorke

3. Black Messiah - D'Angelo and The Vanguard

2. Language - The Contortionist

1. Lost Together // Lost Forever - Architects